DIY Coasters

In my effort to make more cute custom stuff for our house (we are moving back this weekend, hurray!), I made some coasters!

I found some regular old white ceramic tiles at Home Depot (16 cents each), taped off patterns with painter’s tape and used acrylic paints on them.

After I’d painted them and removed the tape, I was worried that some of the paint might scratch off, so I painted over the paint with clear nail polish – I happen to have a lot of the stuff lying around. It made the paint nice and glossy too. You could also use modge podge, shellac or clear acrylic spray paint. I put little fabric feet on the bottom (also from home depot) and they were ready to go. I think I’ll make a few more. They’re so fun and colorful!

6 thoughts on “DIY Coasters

  1. Pingback: Inspiration Sunday // Coasters « Mixed Method

comment on this post

