DIY Scrapbook Paper Wall Art

Sometimes I get so excited about a DIY project that I forget to take an adequate amount of pictures of the process to share with you guys. I need to try and be better about that. Anywayyyy, after seeing a similar project on Pinterest, I set out to create some wall art for the big empty wall in our kitchen and I want to share with you how it turned out!

Scrapbook Paper Wall Art

For this project I used:

  • 9 sheets of 12″x 12″ scrapbook paper
  • 9 12″ x 12″ squares of masonite (you could also use foam board of plywood)
  • modge podge (I used matte, not glossy)
  • paintbrush
  • command velcro strips (to mount the squares onto the wall)

I bought a long board of masonite at Home Depot on the cheap. I made sure I had enough for D to cut it into a satisfactory amount of 12 x 12 inch squares which he kindly did for me at home. Any excuse to play with his jigsaw. Then I painted a layer of modge podge on the masonite, put a piece of scrap book paper on top, and painted a layer of modge podge over the paper. The trick is being careful not to use too much, because that can create a whole mess of air bubbles and wavy paper issues.

Scrapbooked Masonite Squares

After they dried we measured out where we wanted them to go on the wall, and how far apart we wanted them spaced. We used velcro strips to hang them on the wall  so that If I want to, I can re-arranage them! I stuck with black and white for this, since those are the main colors in our kitchen, but I think using bright colored scrap book paper for this project would be really fun. I also think our wall is not yet complete, I might add something across the top of the squares.Don’t know what yet.

Keep Calm Scrapbook Paper

Scrapbook Paper Wall Decoration

What do you think?

7 thoughts on “DIY Scrapbook Paper Wall Art

  1. very cool and modern looking! Love the different patterns, but it all goes together :) and I too forget to take pics during my pinterest projects….i just want to get it done to see the finished product!

    • Thanks! I agree – sometimes I start doing a project and I just can’t be bothered to take pictures because I’m so excited to see how it comes out!

  2. Pingback: A Mixed Method Year in Review « MIXED METHOD
  3. This is really a great DIY scrapbook paper wall art project, i enjoyed this great work, many thanks for sharing this easy peasy DIY wall art idea.

comment on this post

